Trying Book of the Month in Canada

20221113_115211 - brighter

Like most people who are active on bookish social media, I’ve been aware of Book of the Month for a long time. And envious of US readers who have access to it. Canada is left out of a lot of things or, if we aren’t, things are a lot more expensive for us. When Book of the Month announced it would be coming to Canada, so to speak, everyone was excited. Would we finally have a book subscription box that was flexible and affordable? Everyone waited with baited breath to find out.

I’ve never personally subscribed to a book box because I don’t like spending money on what is essentially unknown items. I know, adulting is hard and anxiety is the worst. I do own a few special edition books from boxes, given to me by friends. But that’s about it. When BotM posted that you could get your first book for $5 if you participated in a survey, I did it just in case (and also to provide what I hoped would be good feedback before it went live). Questions included opinion on price and which currency we would prefer to shop in (clearly I said CAD because otherwise it would be too expensive). They did at least listen to that feedback.

20221113_115409 - brighter

When I got an email that it was available now and I could in fact order my first book for $5, I hopped over to their website to check it out. I scrolled through the month’s picks. None of them really appealed to me, but their add ons and past books did. You have to make an account before you can do anything else, so I did that. I considered which book I really wanted, and ended up deciding I’d get Spells for Forgetting by Adrienne Young if I did go through with it. I ended up deciding to do so because the hardcover in Canada is $37.99. With tax it would easily be at least $40. Books are getting too expensive these days.

I added the book to my cart, but the only discount that was available to apply was the same discount all new Canadian subscribers get: their first book for $9.99. I reached out to customer service, and received a fairly quick response. They advised me to go ahead with my purchase and they would refund the difference. I did that and let them know, and they eventually replied back that they’d process the refund for me (it has since gone through so all is good). I also received an e-mail stating that the original confirmation e-mail was incorrect in what the cost of the box would be after the first month deal. It’s $26.99 plus tax. Shipping is built into the price, which is the reason BotM gives for the price being so much higher for us than it is for Americans.

Once that was out of the way, I did start to feel pretty excited that I got a hardcover for $5 plus tax. That’s pretty unheard of unless you’re at a secondhand store. I downloaded the app and added a few books to my TBR shelf. Apparently there are perks for rating books. You can also view your orders, and skip months from there. My box was shipped out pretty quickly, which also made me excited to get it. Unfortunately the tracking number never worked, so I had no idea when it was coming. It arrived in about a week which is amazingly fast. I was so happy to see that iconic blue box on my porch that I didn’t even hesitate to open it. Inside, there was an info booklet, my book, and a bookmark. The book arrived in really good condition despite there being no bubble wrap or packing paper whatsoever, so I was pleasantly surprised. I honestly can’t wait to read it, and I feel like I made a smart decision because I saved about $35 on a book I really wanted to read.

20221113_115456 - brighter

Even when I was signing up, I wasn’t sure whether or not I’d keep the subscription. On the one hand, I liked the idea of it. I liked the idea that after three boxes, you have access to BotM merch and more. But is it really worth it? Yes and no. And it will definitely depend on the person. If it’s a book that’s much more expensive in Canada, maybe it is. But if it’s a book that’s the same price, or less, or one where you are really particular about the cover, you probably won’t find it worth it. I personally decided I was okay with the BotM logo on Spells for Forgetting because the price was too good to pass up. Of course I prefer my books with no permanent branding on the cover and spine beyond the normal publisher logo. And there’s also the fact that I like to support my local indie or get books from the library if possible. I’ve seen a lot of people on TikTok discussing the pricing and whether it’s worth it. I’ve spoken with some people on there about it, too. And some Instagram friends who live in Quebec that are disappointed that they’re not able to sign up yet.

So what’s my verdict? I think it’s absolutely worth it for the first month deal if there’s a book you want and you don’t mind the BotM branding on the dust jacket and the naked book. I believe your second book is $14.99 if you choose more than one. I didn’t even stop to think about whether or not I could get more than one, but that’s okay. After the first month, I’m not so sure whether it’s worth it. For me, at this moment, I don’t think it is. But maybe I’ll come back to it later. And before you suggest I just skip a month if I don’t want another book, I think you still get charged each month even if you skip. That could get expensive if you skip more than once. If not, then it’s still a hassle. The good thing is, you can skip or cancel right from the BotM app. At the end of the day, though, I’m glad I signed up for this book with the first month deal.

What are your thoughts on Book of the Month in Canada?

Leave a comment